Dougnuts, Women, and a few good Companions

Posted: August 20, 2012 in Perceptive Gaming

So, it’s been a couple days since my last post. Nothing personal, just have other things I must attend to. You know, like stuff that normal people do when they aren’t playing the game, or when they are for that matter. So, I’ll just give you a few updates on what I’ve been up to, in game that is. My personal life isn’t all that entertaining, I promise. Well, unless you consider stuffing my face with doughnuts and coffee at 4am in the morning is hilarious. Nope, but it taste good. Can’t beat a fresh doughnut. I think I’m probably one of the only people insane enough to be up that early though, other than the officers enjoying their early doughnut. Biased, I know… but so true! Go to a Doughnut shop that early and you will always find at least one officer there, always!

null

So, I got managed to get some friends of mine to sign up for DDO. One of them actually started to play a little bit which was kind of cool. I made a fresh toon so I could run with her, which felt odd. I’ve always started characters at level 4 with Vet status, and lately I’ve had Vet Status II, so if I made a new toon, it would be at level 7. To start out at level 1 was different for me, but I did it. The things you do for friends. I figured, since I introduced her to the game, I’d at least try to give a good impression. We’ll discuss my payment later, Turbine. 😉

So, she went through the first part. That little grotto quest, cept I was waiting on the other side for almost a half hour before she finally came through the door. I can’t help but wonder if that was me when I started. I tend to pick up on things rather quick though and her… not so much. So, it didn’t really come as no surprise. I rolled up a Half Elf Artificer while she rolled up a cleric. It seems that every girl I get interested in this game rolls up a cleric first thing. What is with that? Something about women being more nurturing or something? I guess, but they won’t be for long after playing a Cleric through a few bad PUGs. Seen it before, and I’m sure I’ll see it again.

So, after she finally got out of the Grotto, which I’m sure she died in because she hinted at it. Lucky for her, Celimus had her back. Girls gotta stick together, or at least so I’m told. We didn’t do much. We ran Heyton’s while I dragged her in on Elite. I told her what to do, and she stuck to it and tore our way through those nasty cultist. I tried to give her a few pointers along the way. She seemed to pick up on it fairly well, which was a huge relief. I tried teaching my mother once. Oh dear. That turned out very very odd. I looked on her screen and she was staring down at the floor screaming, “Where are they! I can’t see them!” I wonder why, mother. I wonder why. Long story short, my mother isn’t very coordinated. (Did I mention, she rolled a cleric too?) But, needless to say, she did much better than my mother. We got to the end of the quest and she was like, “I have to go!” I told her to at least wait till we finished but she insisted that she needed to go, so like the chivalrous guy I am, I ran into the final room, ignored all the mobs pounding on me and beat down the altar to finish. She left with a laugh and a, “Thank You!” and of course, her xp for completion. Lucky for me, I managed to make it out alive. My poor untwinked level 1 Arti took a beating in and Elite Heyton’s Rest, but I managed.

null

I also managed to get my little Cube-let Companion out of the deal! Yay! That takes me up to three little companions to cuddle up with! Well, I’m not sure how the cube would work out. Are they all sticky? Either way, me and my guildies had a few good laughs. My Guildy whom normally likes to do ‘unspeakable’ things to my poor little Sniffer, wouldn’t have anything to do with my Cube-let. He’s been angry with me because of seeing less of Sniffer, though truth be told, I bring my Cube-let out on purpose when he is around. >:3 I still need to think of a good name for him, but that will come with time! Other than that… my Guildies just refer to him as Sniffer’s poo and yells at me to clean ‘That Stuff’ up off the Guild Ship.

Other than that, I did more Shroudage. Got ANOTHER Large Devil Scale. I seem to get them every run. This is fortunate. I took the liberty to post one on the Auction House and made some good money off it. 😀 I don’t look so poor now. Of course, with great money, comes lots of friends asking for some! What can I say? I probably owe most of them anyways. Haha.

Until Next time…

null

Comments
  1. Micki says:

    XD Well, lol, I rolled a cleric as my first toon as well, and it had nothing to do with being nurturing. I didn’t even start healing until maybe lvl 7. I rolled a cleric because the cleric’s the most versatile toon in the game, imo. You want a caster that can melee and heal – roll a cleric. 🙂 Of course I know from experience that a cleric’s also one of the more difficult toons to play efficiently. And you need some backbone. If you’re pugging, you need to be able to stand your group when people give u crap. 🙂

    I love my cleric and she’s a lot of fun to play. I take my role really seriously, but I guess I’ve become a bit of elitist as well. You’ll never see me healbotting, I’m always right in the middle of it casting or meleing and throwing bursts. Yes, I throw a heal once in a while as well and I do keep a constant eye on the party’s hp bars. That’s the thing with playing a cleric, you’ve got a hell of a lot more responsibility than anyone else, and you will get shit when things go south.

    🙂 I have noticed though that I don’t really get any crap anymore since I started using voice (well, heh, I only run high level stuff also, so very few noobs). This because I can can tell people why they’re not being healed – without having to write it. Most common reasons are lag, or them being blocked or out of reach. Most common reason’s lag, though. Drives me crazy.

  2. Kobay says:

    Hahaha. It was only a wild random guess. 😛 I just noticed that women always happen to roll up Clerics. Not all, but a large majority of them. It’s kind of interesting. 😛 I should try and get more of my female friends to play just to see what they roll up. If only I was still in College. This would make an interesting Sociology project.

  3. Finch_Bloomwhiffler says:

    I rolled a rogue, first, then a sorc. Didn’t get around to a healer until I’d been playing a while. I’ve been told I’m weird for a girl. 🙂

  4. LrdSlvrhnd says:

    True story: My dad and i were driving late last night, and pulled into a Dunkin’ Donuts. There were three cop cars in the parking lot and two in the drive-through, and another one pulled in as we were leaving.

    Yay for surviving the epic, er elite, beat-down!

Leave a Reply

