When ‘Fun’ Happens

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Perceptive Gaming


Trixies of Sarlona during Guild Party
(The odd lighting of the Chronoscope gave this picture and interesting look.)

A lot of people seem to differ on their thoughts about the game and there always tend to be a lot of drama due to that and argument about what one players sees in this game compared to another. Yet, none of us are the same people so our definition of ‘fun’ is going to differ. That is just the way it is. Some people prefer power gaming, while more casual players like other things. Some like to Roleplay, and others do some hard core Permadeath. It is one game with many very different people, and even though we may clash when it comes to certain things, we have to understand that regardless, we are here to have fun. When this game becomes ‘work’, then it is simply not worth it anymore.

When I look at fun in DDO, I look at the people that I’m around. I love to laugh and joke with my guildies, and even some friends I’ve met pugging. I game a lot and grind out a lot, and so some people might consider me some type of power gamer, but when I’m questing, I manage to portray a totally different attitude than some may be accustomed to when dealing with similar players.

Yes, I Pug and a lot too. I like meeting new people regardless of what other horrible incidents I’ve been through. I’m met some great players that have the personality of a rock. Maybe a couple that are rocks with a little moss on them, but you get my point. Then there are other players that aren’t so great and are awesome to hang out with and I have no problem teaching them and helping them grow while we have fun together. Recently I met this sorcerer who really is a great guy. He is cool and we are always messing with each other and having fun, regardless of the fact that he is probably one of the most squishy sorcerers I’ve ever met. I’ve kind of learned to deal with it and there has been many times in which he has returned all that patience with him and saved me when I go and do something that I am about to regret.

So, when people have ‘fun’, it usually isn’t just whites and blacks, but many many shades of grey I guess you could say. We might just like a little bit of both, and that is ok. The one thing you shouldn’t do though is interfere on someone else’s fun. My sorcerer friend loves playing his build even though his squishyness has been known to grief both him and me. I give him advice to help him out, but never do I tell him how to play his Character. I think like many things in life, when your doing anything with another person, understanding is needed. If you don’t understand them, then try to do so. Don’t immediately fall to your perspective. When your not worrying about them, and you both enjoy yourself.. then Fun Happens. You are successfully playing the game how it was meant to be played.

Other than party members, it is always nice to have guild members too that you can rely on. In both instances, you want people that have close enough to the same views of fun that you do. It makes things much more interesting when you both can relate. I love my Guildies. They are the best and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I have people that I can rely on to help me, and they know they can rely on me.

DDO is a game of community, whether in your party or in your guild. The last thing you want to do is make those around you angry, because that not only effects their gameplay, but yours as well. Reminds me of one of my favorite quotes, which I’m sure many of you know… “Happiness is not found. It is shared.” 🙂

-Kobay (Culver.Civello)

Comments
  1. Kalari says:

    Very good read excellent points I fear that people feel attacked when you tell them that its not about how to win at ddo. I am not against those who tackle ddo in a power perspective but I am tired of people trying to hold other gamers to their standards its a big world we should try to respect each other’s differences a little better. Good read 🙂

  2. RaspberryX says:

    I love to PUG! Sometime’s it gets a little scary, but for the most part, it is a lot of fun. It’s refreshing and different from what I get with my guild. The biggest reason why I play DDO is because it’s fun and I keep coming back to this game because of the people and the fun I have with them. Thanks for the great read!

Leave a Reply

